Théâtre Bobino

A PROPOS

Des clowns aux splendeurs musicales

Le Théâtre Bobino tire son nom du célèbre clown italien qui travaillait dans le proche jardin du Luxembourg aux aurores du XIXe siècle. De 1816 à 1868, le théâtre du Luxembourg accueillit Bobino le clown et sa troupe ; la salle fut affectueusement appelé le théâtre de Bobino. En 1870, le théâtre changea de place pour le quartier plus animé de Montparnasse et adopta officiellement son surnom.

 

De sa construction dans les années 1870 jusqu’à la Première Guerre mondiale, le Bobino était un petit café-concert, qui se fit rapidement un nom sur la scène parisienne. Lorsqu’il était en exil en France, Lénine lui-même fréquentait l’établissement ! Après la guerre, Bobino devint rapidement la référence pour découvrir les toutes dernières nouveautés de la culture musicale de la capitale. Devenue la première salle musicale de la Rive Gauche, le Théâtre Bobino accueillit des stars internationales, d’Edith Piaf et Georges Brassens à Barbara, Dalida et Joséphine Baker. Il fut même un temps où le Bobino et la mythique salle de la Rive Droite, l’Olympia, était gérées par Bruno Coquatrix.

 

Trouver sa place

Après une importante rénovation dans les années 1980, le théâtre ferma par manque de financement et entra dans une phase expérimentale tout au long des années 1990 et 2000 : accueillant des dîners de cabaret, des comédiens et même quelques séances d'enregistrement télévisé. Le Bobino changea de direction artistique en 2010 lorsqu’un nouveau directeur décida de revenir aux activités historiques de music-hall, mais également d’inclure des comédies musicales, des one-man-shows et d’autres créations scéniques. Le Théâtre Bobino a enfin trouvé sa place en tant que lieu parisien réputé présentant des spectacles musicaux en tout genre.

 

En quelques mots

Capacité : 900

Accès handicapé : oui, merci de nous contacter pour vous garantir un placement dans les zones accessibles.

Climatisé : non

Lieu

14-20 rue de la Gaîté, 75014 Paris

Gaîté     , Montparnasse        

Les derniers spectacles dans ce lieu

Ballet & Danse

Che Malambo

The Malambo, a powerfully rhythmic Argentinian dance, come to Paris for the first time. The powerhouse dance company excites audiences with percussive dance and music spectacle.
Jusqu'au 21/04/2019
De 26 €

Comédie

Seul en scène

Mime

Tape Face

Comedy with a twist: discover the mime show that has taken the world by storm!
Jusqu'au 26/09/2020
De 34 €

Théâtre Bobino

  • 14-20 Rue de la Gaité, 75014 Paris
  • Capacity : 900 seats
  • Gaîté     
  • Montparnasse         

NEXT DATES

15
FriNovember
7:00 PM
16
SatNovember
7:00 PM
17
SunNovember
4:30 PM
20
WedNovember
7:00 PM
21
ThuNovember
7:00 PM
22
FriNovember
7:00 PM
23
SatNovember
7:00 PM
24
SunNovember
4:30 PM
27
WedNovember
7:00 PM
28
ThuNovember
7:00 PM
29
FriNovember
7:00 PM
30
SatNovember
7:00 PM
01
SunDecember
4:30 PM
04
WedDecember
7:00 PM
05
ThuDecember
7:00 PM
06
FriDecember
7:00 PM
07
SatDecember
7:00 PM
08
SunDecember
4:30 PM
11
WedDecember
7:00 PM
12
ThuDecember
7:00 PM
13
FriDecember
7:00 PM
14
SatDecember
7:00 PM
15
SunDecember
4:30 PM
18
WedDecember
7:00 PM
19
ThuDecember
7:00 PM
20
FriDecember
7:00 PM
21
SatDecember
7:00 PM
22
SunDecember
4:30 PM
25
WedDecember
7:00 PM
26
ThuDecember
7:00 PM
27
FriDecember
7:00 PM
28
SatDecember
7:00 PM
29
SunDecember
4:30 PM
02
ThuJanuary
7:00 PM
03
FriJanuary
7:00 PM
04
SatJanuary
7:00 PM
05
SunJanuary
4:30 PM

ABOUT

From clowns to musical splendor

The Théâtre Bobino gets its name from a celebrated Italian clown that worked in the nearby Luxembourg Gardens in the early 19th century. From 1816 to 1868, the Théâtre du Luxembourg welcomed Bobino the clown and his troupe, and the venue became affectionately referred to as Bobino's theatre. In the 1870s, the venue moved locations to the bustling nearby Montparnasse district and officially adopted its namesake.

 

From its construction in the 1870s up until the first World War, the Bobino was a small café-concert, though quickly gaining notoriety. While exiled in France, even Lenin himself was known to frequent the Théâtre Bobino! Following the war, the Bobino music hall very quickly became the go-to location for all the latest in Parisian musical culture. Becoming the primary music venue on the Rive Gauche, the Théâtre Bobino welcomed international stars from Edith Piaf and Georges Brassens to Barbara Dalida, and Joséphine Baker. At one time, the Bobino and Paris' mythic Rive Droite music Hall L'Olympia were both run by the same man, Bruno Coquatrix.

 

Finding its place

After a major renovation in the 1980s, the theatre faced closure due to lack of financing and entered into a rather experimental phase throughout the 1990s and early 2000s, housing cabaret dinners, comedians, and even welcoming a few television recording sessions. The Bobino changed direction in 2010 when a new director wanted to embrace the venue's music hall history and also to expand to include musical comedies, one-man-shows, and more diverse acts. The Théâtre Bobino has finally found its place as a celebrated Parisian venue welcoming musically-charged performances of all genres.

 

Fast facts

Capacity: 900

Handicap Accessible? Yes, please contact us to ensure proper seating in accessible areas

Air conditioning? No

LOCATION

14-20 Rue de la Gaité, 75014 Paris

Gaîté     , Montparnasse        

PAST SHOWS AT THIS VENUE

Ballet & Dance

Che Malambo

The Malambo, a powerfully rhythmic Argentinian dance, come to Paris for the first time. The powerhouse dance company excites audiences with percussive dance and music spectacle.
until 21 April 2019
from 26 €