Athénée - Théâtre Louis-Jouvet

  • 2-4 square de l'Opéra Louis-Jouvet, 75009 Paris
  • Capacity: 478 seats
  • Opéra         
  • Havre-Caumartin         


History and Fun Facts about the Athénée - Théâtre Louis-Jouvet

The Athénée - Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, an architectural gem in Paris, has its roots in the Éden-Théâtre, a colossal building on rue Boudreau in the 1880s. This Hindu temple, as exotic as it was enchanting, was praised at the time for its originality and magnificence. Unfortunately, Eden was subjected to successive metamorphoses, leading to its dismantling and disappearance. However, a renaissance began with the emergence of the current Athénée, inaugurated in 1896 in one of the Eden's foyers.


The theatre underwent major transformations in 1896, in particular the relocation of its façade onto the Square de l'Opéra. Louis-Jouvet, the great French playwright, played a key role in the history of the Athénée from 1934 to 1951.


Over the years, the stage of the Athénée - Théâtre Louis-Jouvet has welcomed prestigious figures from the world of theatre, including Peter Brook, Jean Vilar, Claude Régy, Matthias Langhoff, Pierre Brasseur, Maria Casarès and Jeanne Moreau. Under the visionary direction of Pierre Bergé from 1977 to 1981, the Théâtre de l'Athénée opened its doors to opera and contemporary creations.


Today, the Athénée - Théâtre Louis-Jouvet remains a pillar of the Paris theatre scene, proudly carrying the torch of contemporary and classical creation.


Fast facts
Capacity: 478 places
Handicap Accessible: Yes, the main auditorium is accessible with seats reserved in the orchestra. Please let us know when you book at hello@theatreinparis so that the theatre can warmly welcome you!
Air conditioning: Yes
Heating: Yes
Coat Check: Yes (free service)


2-4 square de l'Opéra Louis-Jouvet, 75009 Paris

Opéra         , Havre-Caumartin         , Saint-Lazare        

Past shows at this venue


Musical Mondays at Athénée - Théâtre Louis Jouvet


Start the week on a high like no other.
until 7/20/24
from 17 €