Sainte-Chapelle Concert Series

Concert in the Sainte-Chapelle
The Sainte-Chapelle (Holy Chapel)

Until 12 July 2020

No dialogue

LOCATION

The Sainte-Chapelle (Holy Chapel)
8 Boulevard du Palais, 75001 Paris
Capacity : 200 seats

DURATION

1 hour

No intermission


DETAILS

Classical concert

Recommended for all ages

No dialogue


HIGHLIGHTS

The gloriously elaborate Holy Chapel is a pearl of Gothic French architecture. Spend an evening marveling at the chapel's vaulted ceilings and stained glass pannelling - all while enjoying the harmonious sounds of violins and the cello from some of the finest classical composers.

STORY

Located on the Ile de la Cité, just minutes from Notre Dame Cathedral, the Sainte-Chapelle is one of France's most visited monuments. But few of the million visitors who pass through the chapel's ornately carved doors each year have the privilege of attending an exclusive classical concert on the other side.

 

Euromusic Productions has assembled the finest sets and soloists in Paris to bring you a series of concerts and recitals that pay homage to classical music greats. Masterpieces by JS Bach, Mozart, Vivaldi, and Handel all make the list, a score of others stretching from the baroque period through the 20th century.

 

Have a look at this year's March, April, May, and June programmes:

Friday, March 13 at 6 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, March 14 at 6 pm

Bach’s complete violin concert, Mozart’s A little Night Music

 

Sunday, March 15 at 6 pm

Mozart’s The Voice of the Sky, Haendel’s Exsultate Jubilate and Laudate Dominum, Caccini and Schubert’s Ave Maria

 

Friday, March 20 at 6 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, and Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, March 21 at 6 pm

Soprano of Baroque follies and Ave Maria

 

Sunday, March 22 at 6 pm

Bach’s Complete Violin Concert, Mozart’s A little night music

 

Friday, March 27 at 6 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarabande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Sunday, March 29 at 6 pm

Ave Maria in Sainte Chapelle, Sacred Prestigious songs and Masterpieces

 

Monday, March 30 at 6 pm

Rare violin concert of music that has not yet been released

 

Friday, April 3 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, April 4 at 8 pm

Violin concert

 

Sunday, April 5 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Monday, April 6 at 8 pm

Holly Week Concert:

Vivaldi’s Stabat Mater & Sinfonia al santo sepolcro, Caccini and Schubert’s Ave Maria, Pergolese’s Salve Regina

 

Friday, April 10 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, April 11 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Season, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Sunday, April 12 at 8 pm

Great Easter and Pentecost Concert of the Crucifixion to the Resurrection

 

Monday, April 13 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Season, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, April 17 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarabande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, April 18 at 8 pm

Mozart’s Requiem (quartet version of Peter Lichtental 1802), Vivaldi’s Sinfonia al Santo Sepolcro

 

Sunday, April 19 at 8 pm

Ave Maria in Sainte Chapelle, Sacred Prestigious songs and Masterpieces

 

Monday, April 20 at 8 pm

Rare violin concert of music that has not yet been released

 

Friday, April 24 at 8 pm

Cello Prestige:

Haydn’s Cello Concert in C, Tchaikovsky’s Adante and Cantabile, Rachmaninov’s Vocal Music

 

Saturday, April 25 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Sunday, April 26 at 8 pm

Mozart’s The Voice of The Sky, Haendel’s Laudate Dominum and Exultate Jubilate, Caccini and Schubert’s Ave Maria

 

Monday, April 27 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, May 1 at 5 pm

Ave Maria in Sainte Chapelle, Sacred Prestigious songs and Masterpieces

 

Friday, May 1 at 7:30 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarbande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, May 2 at 8 pm

Mozart’s Requiem (quartet version of Peter Lichtental 1802), Vivaldi’s Sinfonia al Santo Sepolcro

 

Sunday, May 3 at 8 pm

Ave Maria in Sainte Chapelle, Sacred Prestigious songs and Masterpieces

 

Monday, May 4 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarbande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, May 8 at 8 pm

Violin and Cello Concert: Baroque jewels

 

Saturday, May 9 at 8 pm

Flute Baroque follies and Ave Maria at the Sainte Chapelle

 

Sunday, May 10 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Thursday, May 14 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarbande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, May 15 at 8 pm

Mozart’s Requiem (quartet version of Peter Lichtental 1802), Vivaldi’s Sinfonia al Santo Sepolcro

 

Saturday, May 16 at 8 pm

Rare violin concert of music that has not yet been released

 

Sunday, May 17 at 8 pm

Ave Maria in Sainte Chapelle, Sacred Prestigious songs and Masterpieces

 

Monday, May 18 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarbande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, May 22 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, May 23 at 8 pm

JS Bach’s Concert of oboe and violin, Albanoni’s Oboe Concert- Sonata for five

 

Sunday, May 24 at 8 pm

Bach’s Complete violin concert, Mozart’s A little night music

 

Monday, May 25 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, May 29 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, May 30 at 8 pm

Bach’s Complete violin concert, Mozart’s A little night music

 

Sunday, May 31 at 8 pm

Great Easter and Pentecost Concert of the Crucifixion to the Resurrection

 

Monday, June 1 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Wednesday, June 3 at 8 pm

Scarlatti, Mozart, and Beethoven’s Works and beautiful pages

 

Friday, June 5 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarbande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, June 6 at 8 pm

Rare violin concert of music that has not yet been released

 

Sunday, June 7 at 8 pm

Ave Maria in Sainte Chapelle, Sacred Prestigious songs and Masterpieces

 

Monday, June 8 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Haendel’s Sarbande, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, June 12 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, June 13 at 8 pm

Violin and Cello Concert: Baroque jewels

 

Sunday, June 14 at 8 pm

Violin concert

 

Monday, June 15 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Vitali’s Chaconne, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Friday, June 19 at 8 pm

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Pachelbel’s Canon

 

Saturday, June 20 at 8 pm

Bach’s Complete violin concert, Mozart’s A little night music

 

Monday, June 22 at 8 pm

Mozart’s The Voice of the Sky, Haendel’s Exsultate Jubilate and Laudate Dominum, Caccini and Schubert’s Ave Maria

 

Friday, June 26 at 8pm

Couperin's works for the harpsichord, Bach's Prelude and Fugue

 

Saturday, June 27 at 8pm

Bach's Piano Concerto, Chopin's Piano Concerto No.1

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, Albinoni’s Adagio, Caccini and Schubert’s Ave Maria

 

Sunday, June 28 at 8pm

Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata, Ravel's Menuet on the Name of Haydn, Debussy's Joyous Island

 

Monday, June 29 at 8pm

Beethoven's Trio Op.38/Spring Sonata

 

Friday, July 3 at 8pm

Rachmaninov's Sonata, Ravel's Couperin's Tomb, Moussorgski's Pictures at an Exhibition

 

Saturday, July 4 at 8pm

Schumann/Chopin/Liszt/Ravel

 

Sunday, July 5 at 8pm

Mozart/Beethoven/Grieg/Debussy

 

Monday, July 6 at 8pm

Rachmaninov's Prelude, Beethoven's 32 Variations

 

Friday, July 10 at 8pm

Beethoven's Sonata No.8, Op.13, Chopin's Scherzo 2/Impromptu Fantasy, Liszt's Nocturne/Liebestraum/Étude/La Ronde des Lutins, Ravel's Fountains

 

Saturday, July 11 at 8pm

History of music of the 20th Century

 

Sunday, July 12 at 8pm

A selection of works by Duke Ellington

REVIEWS

Magical historical evening

I thought the ambiance, location and concert were incredible. We were very sensitive to the location and the history of the Sainte-Chapelle but seeing a concert in it made it all more special. I wish we had been given a program instead of having to purchase it.

Colette
7 months ago

Not to be missed

Definitely a must do event in Paris! I have been three times and the music and ambience never fails to overwhelm me. Love this venue!!

catherine b
7 months ago

Wonderful evening

Excellent concert! Everything was beautiful and we enjoyed every minute of it! The only thing was that the weather was very hot and the Sainte-Chapelle doesn’t have ventilation.

Sandra Cecilia
7 months ago

Concert in a jewel venue

Beautiful music in a beautiful setting! The musicians were very talented and the acoustics in the chapel were outstanding. The concert lasted for 1 hour. Definitely worth the price of admission.

Thomas S
7 months ago

The Sainte-Chapelle (Holy Chapel)

8 Boulevard du Palais, 75001 Paris

Paris’ Sainte Chapelle (Holy Chapel) is one of the finest remaining examples of Gothic French architecture. Built in the first half of the thirteenth century, it belongs to the ‘Rayonnant’ period, an architectural style characterised by an increased emphasis on ornate decoration rather than grand size. The chapel formed part of the medieval Palais de la Cité, where the French monarchy resided until the 14th Century. It was originally built to house Louis IX’s priceless collection of relics, including the Crown of Thorns of Christ, one of Christianity’s most cherished artefacts. Although damaged during the French Revolution, the chapel was restored to its shimmering prime thanks to a major renovation during the 19th century.

 

Much of the chapel as it appears today is the fruit of reconceptions by its various skilled restorers. But two thirds of the chapel’s most distinctive element, its magnificent stained glass panelling, are completely authentic. With 15 windows that stretch to 15 metres high, the Sainte Chapelle contains one of the most extensive collections of stained glass anywhere in the world. Its panels depict a total of 1,113 scenes from both Old and New Testament. This array of scenes and colours was no doubt intended as the defining feature of the chapel’s infinitely elaborate interior, but its remaining non-stained glass walls are also richly coloured and decorated. Equally impressive is the chapel’s high vaulted ceiling, painted deep blue and gold so as to resemble the night sky. Each year the Sainte Chapelle plays host to a diverse programme of classical concerts and recitals: as a unique Parisian show venue, things don’t get more atmospheric than this!

FAQ

How do I get to the Sainte-Chapelle?

The chapel is accessible by metro station Cité (Line 4) or RER station Saint-Michel Notre Dame. Our hotline can be reached in case of difficulty on the stage on weekdays from 10 am to 7pm Paris time. For details, we invite you to consult the map above.

What do I do when I get to the chapel?

We invite you to arrive between 30 and 45 minutes before the showtime marked on your ticket. Since the Sainte Chapelle is located within the premises of Paris’ Palace of Justice, concert attendees will need to pass through security checks before accessing the chapel. It is forbidden to bring sharp metal objects (knives, scissors, pliers etc), motorcycle helmets, or glass bottles into the chapel. Security guards cannot guarantee that any confiscated items will be returned to their owners.

Please note that the chapel doors will be closed five minutes before the start of the concert and late arrivals cannot be guaranteed entry. 

Where will I be seated?

There are three categories available, each of which provides a comfortable view of the performers. Our VIP category seats are waiting in the first ten rows of the audience.

How long do the concerts last?

Each concert lasts approximately one hour, without an intermission.

Are these concerts for travellers or French people?

Both! Each year the Holy Chapel welcomes a million visitors who come from across the globe. With a program of composers originating from various countries around the world, these concerts can be enjoyed by speakers of any language.

Is there a dress code?

No, there is no dress code for the Sainte Chapelle concert series. However, guests are recommended to dress between formal and casual. We suggest avoiding the use of shorts, crocs, and caps.