Opéra royal de Versailles

Prochaines dates

01
SunNovember
4:00 PM
03
TueNovember
6:30 PM
21
SatNovember
6:00 PM
28
SatNovember
6:00 PM
29
SunNovember
3:00 PM
04
FriDecember
8:00 PM
05
SatDecember
7:00 PM
09
WedDecember
8:00 PM
18
FriDecember
8:00 PM
19
SatDecember
7:00 PM
20
SunDecember
3:00 PM
25
FriDecember
4:00 PM
26
SatDecember
7:00 PM
27
SunDecember
3:00 PM
29
TueDecember
8:00 PM
30
WedDecember
8:00 PM
31
ThuDecember
8:00 PM
08
FriJanuary
8:00 PM
09
SatJanuary
7:00 PM
10
WedMarch
8:00 PM
19
FriMarch
8:00 PM
20
SatMarch
7:00 PM
30
TueMarch
8:00 PM
13
TueApril
8:00 PM
16
FriApril
8:00 PM
23
SunMay
4:00 PM
01
TueJune
8:00 PM
24
ThuJune
8:00 PM
27
SunJune
3:00 PM
10
SatJuly
6:00 PM
10
SatJuly
8:00 PM

A PROPOS

Commandité par Louis XV, l’Opéra royal était l’une des salles de concerts les plus grandes d’Europe au moment de son inauguration en 1770. Aujourd’hui, il est toujours admiré et constitue l’une des plus belles et plus luxueuses scènes de Paris et de ses environs, du fait de son décor éblouissant et ses formes du début du siècle. Le plafond couvrant la salle est d’une magnifique facture, qui n’est pas sans rappeler la célèbre Chapelle Sixtine de Rome.

L’Opéra royal n’était pas une salle ordinaire : il était apprécié par les élites aisées amatrices de théâtre. D’une capacité de 1 500 personnes, seul un nombre déterminé d’invités pouvait se rendre dans le célèbre château de Versailles pour assister aux meilleurs spectacles. La salle fut plus tard employée comme salle de bal et de banquet.

Après la Révolution française, l’Opéra royal fut laissé intact bien que dépouillé de ses ornements du XVIIIe siècle. Modifiant son apparence originale, la salle fut rénovée pour accueillir des spectacles officiels comme celui de l’ouverture du musée de Versailles en 1837. Rénovée et inaugurée une fois de plus en 1957, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale sous les ordres de l’architecte André Japy, la salle prit un nouvel aspect. En 2009, l’Opéra royal ouvrit ses portes aux spectateurs du monde entier et commença à proposer un éventail de spectacles tels que de la danse contemporaine, des ballets, de l’opéra et des concerts de musique classique. Aujourd’hui, l’Opéra royal accueille plus de 100 représentations par an dans sa salle dorée avec ses sièges en velours rouge et ses lustres ostentatoires.

En quelques mots

Capacité : 750

Accès handicapé : oui

Climatisé : non

Lieu

4 avenue de Paris, 78000 Versailles

Gare de Versailles-Château-Rive-Gauche    

Les derniers spectacles dans ce lieu

Ballet & Danse

Preljocaj's Gravity (Gravité)

A ballet recital different from the rest, a show that contradicts the gravitation pull within the choreography itself
Jusqu'au 27/10/2020
De 99 €

Château de Versailles’ Opéra Royal

  • 4 Avenue de Paris, 78000 Versailles
  • Capacity : 750 seats
  • Gare de Versailles-Château-Rive-Gauche   

NEXT DATES

27
FriDecember
8:00 PM
28
SatDecember
7:00 PM
29
SunDecember
3:00 PM
30
MonDecember
8:00 PM
31
TueDecember
8:00 PM

ABOUT

Categorized a one of the largest performance halls in Europe during its inauguration in 1770 requested by Louis XV, it is presently still admired as one of the grand luxurious staging in Paris due its lavishing décor composed of early century design. The ceiling above the room comprises of an exquisite form of art, something similar to what you would see in the Sistine Chapel in Rome, Italy.

Opéra Royal was no ordinary room, it was prestigious among wealthy individuals who fancied theater. Hosting 1,500 people, only a specific number of guests were invited to view the best shows in Paris at the esteemed Versailles palace. Later the room was also used as a ballroom and a banquet hall.

After the revolution the Opéra Royal room was left whole but stripped of its 18th century embellishment. Altering its original appearance, the room is renovated and for official shows such as the opening of the Versailles museum in 1837. Renovated an inaugurated once again in 1957 after the Second World War by orders of architect André Japy, the room undertook a whole new look. In 2009 Opéra Royal opened its doors to spectators from all over the world and began to display an array of enlightened shows such as contemporary dance, ballet recitals, opera and classical music concerts. Presently it offers more than 100 performances per season in its golden room occupied with ostentatious chandeliers, surrounded by red velvet seating.

Fun facts:

Capacity: 750

Handicap Accessible? Yes

Air conditioning? No

LOCATION

4 Avenue de Paris, 78000 Versailles

Gare de Versailles-Château-Rive-Gauche    

PAST SHOWS AT THIS VENUE